The Libraries Consortium


Merton Libraries is a member of the The Libraries Consortium (TLC), a consortium of 23 library authorities who share their library management system.

The benefits for our customers are:


  • Access to millions of items of stock across the member authorities through a shared library catalogue.
  • Only one library card needed to borrow items from any of the 23 authorities' libraries.
  • Members of any of the consortium authorities will be able to borrow and return items to any libraries and use the People's Network at any of these sites.
  • Standardisation of borrowing practices across the consortium. Brand new and improved website and online catalogue.
  • The TLC catalogue is one of the biggest in the country and includes some of the largest community language collections in London and broadens choice for customers.
  • 24/7 renewal line 0333 370 4700. Customers will be able to renew their books or make basic enquiries by telephone at any time of the day or night.


Members of the consortium:


  • Barking & Dagenham
  • Brent
  • Croydon
  • Ealing
  • Enfield
  • Essex County Council
  • Hackney
  • Hammersmith and Fulham
  • Haringey
  • Harrow
  • Havering
  • Hounslow
  • Kingston Upon Thames
  • Lewisham
  • Luton
  • Merton
  • Newham
  • Redbridge
  • Sutton
  • Surrey County Council
  • Tower Hamlets
  • Waltham Forest
  • Borough of Thurrock


More information


The Libraries Consortium